Help with choosing needles & stabilizer

Guest Cerise518

Guest Cerise518

I am still an embroidery beginner and just upgraded to a Brother PE 770 from a Brother SE 400.  I've mainly made felt appliqués which are pretty easy and haven't required any special stabilizer/needle combos.  I'm really trying to make sure I am using the right materials for the right applications now that I want to do more, but am struggling to find good information and see mixed advice when I just search online.  The machine came with four 75/11 needles and one 90/14, but no instructions on when to use them or with what fabrics.  I plan to do mostly embroidery on knit clothing like interlock or jersey and sometimes denim or fleece.  After reading lots of advice and websites about embroidering on knits, I bought Floriani No-Show Mesh Fusible Cutaway, which says it will handle 6,000-8,000 stitches and can be cross layered to support double that amount of stitches.  Of course after I purchased it and looked at many of the files I want to use I see that the designs are very dense and many have between 15,000-40,000 stitches, so I am worried about either not adding enough stabilizer or overdoing it if I add several more layers.  I also have the water soluble film to place on top for thick fabrics and the tear away kind (which I haven't been impressed with) in my stash.  I had mostly good luck doing two layers of the mesh and a film topper when sewing on fleece (once I tightened my top thread tension), but it was only 13,000 stitches.  Some forums mention floating tear away under the hooped fabric & mesh or only hooping the stabilizer and using spray adhesive to hold the fabric to it, but I feel like leaving some things loose will lead to something shifting or getting caught since none of the supplier recommend doing them.