Hi Everybody,
I pulled my hair out long enough and I really don't have any to spare.
The zigzag border on this embroidery design is not lining up along the edges.  Anybody know why that would be?  It looks fine on the computer.
It was sewing out okay but I went back to tweak it and something changed.  I don't know what I did to make it not line up.
I then started from scratch and redid the design and it still doesn't line up.
I attached a picture of just the "J" but all the letters are doing it. I have the file but couldn't figure out how to attach it.
Thanks for any help,

post-19-0-38560200-1392493411_thumb.jpg

It looks to me like a problem in the hooping or the pull of the fabric.  Can you try to sew the design on felt or just 2 pieces of cut away backing (no fabric).  If the design is OK on the backing then it is a hooping or pull compensation problem.  The fabric can move in the hoop when sewing.  Are you using the smallest hoop possible to fit the design?

I'm still a beginner at this embroidery lark so I'm doing more of this sort of problem solving than production!   Its all very frustrating, you have my sympathy . . . and I'll throw in a few untutored and inexperienced ideas, let us know what works please

is the stitch tension enough to be pulling the fabric through the hoop?

I use a piece of taylors chalk and run that around the inside of the hoop to see if its causing a problem, it marks the fabric temporarily and you can then tell if it gets pulled inwards. Usually find its more of a problem on big designs (loads of tension) on shiny flat woven fabrics rather than knitted.

a few solutions come to mind if this is the problem

- tighten the hoop up harder after hooping, if we tighten after pushing it on we seem to get less hoop burn